HOME
YOU ARE HERE: HOME > LEARN > LIBRARY > GUIDE TO WEB RESEARCH
MORRIS MUSEUM OF ART


libary

GUIDE TO WEB RESEARCH
The following web sites are suggestions for research. Many more sites exist under each category; these are just to help you get started. The Morris Museum of Art accepts no responsibility for the accuracy or content on the web sites linked to these sites.

Other Southeastern Museums
ALABAMA
Birmingham Museum of Art (www.artsbma.org)
Huntsville Museum of Art (www.hsvmuseum.org)
Mobile Museum of Art (www.mobilemuseumofart.com)
Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts (www.fineartsmuseum.com)

Sarah Moody Gallery of Art, University of Alabama: (www.as.ua.edu/art/moody.html)

FLORIDA
Bass Museum of Art (www.bassmuseum.org)
Boca Raton Museum of Art (www.bocamuseum.org)
Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens (www.cummer.org)
Museum of Florida Art (www.delandmuseum.com)
Harn Museum of Art (www.harn.ufl.edu)
Lowe Art Museum, University of Miami (www.lowemuseum.org)
Mennello Museum of American Art (www.mennellomuseum.org)
Museum of Art/Fort Lauderdale (www.moafl.org)
Museum of Contemporary Art, Jacksonville (www.mocajacksonville.org)
Museum of Contemporary Art, North Miami (www.mocanomi.org)
Museum of Fine Arts, Florida State University (www.mofa.fsu.edu)
Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg (www.fine-arts.org)
Norton Museum of Art (www.norton.org)
Orlando Museum of Art (www.omart.org)
Pensacola Museum of Art (www.pensacolamuseumofart.org)
Polk Museum of Art (www.polkmuseumofart.org)
Ringling Museum of Art (www.ringling.org)

Salvador Dali Museum (salvadordalimuseum.org)
Tampa Museum of Art (www.tampamuseum.com)
University Galleries , Florida Atlantic University (www.fau.edu/galleries)
University Galleries, University of Florida (www.arts.ufl.edu/galleries/)
University of South Florida Contemporary Art Museum (www.usfcam.usf.edu)
Vero Beach Museum of Art (www.vbmuseum.org)

GEORGIA
Albany Museum of Art (www.albanymuseum.com)
Atlanta Contemporary Art Center (www.thecontemporary.org)
Atlanta History Center (www.atlhist.org)
Augusta Museum of History (www.augustamuseum.org)
Booth Western Art Museum (www.boothmuseum.org)
Brenau University Galleries (artsweb.brenau.edu/Galleries/)
Columbus Museum (Columbus, Georgia) (www.columbusmuseum.com)
Georgia Museum of Art, University of Georgia (www.uga.edu/gamuseum/)
Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art (ghia.org)
High Museum of Art (www.high.org)
Lamar Dodd Art Center, LaGrange College (www.lagrange.edu/academics/art/lamar-dodd.htm)
Lucy Craft Laney Museum of Black History (www.lucycraftlaneymuseum.com)
Madison-Morgan Cultural Center (www.madisonmorgancultural.org)
Michael C. Carlos Museum, Emory University (carlos.emory.edu)
Museum of Arts and Sciences (Macon, Georgia) (www.masmacon.com)
Museum of Contemporary Art of Georgia (www.mocaga.org)
Spelman College Museum of Fine Art (www.spelman.edu/museum/index.shtml)
Telfair Museum of Art (www.telfair.org)

Tubman African American Museum (www.tubmanmuseum.com)

KENTUCKY
Filson Historical Society (www.filsonhistorical.org)
Kentucky Folk Art Center (www.kyfolkart.org)
Owensboro Museum of Fine Art (www.omfa.museum)
Speed Art Museum (www.speedmuseum.org)
University of Kentucky Art Museum (www.uky.edu/artmuseum)

LOUISIANA
Alexandria Museum of Art (www.themuseum.org)
Contemporary Arts Center (www.cacno.org)
Historic New Orleans Collection (www.hnoc.org)
Louisiana State University Museum of Art (www.lsu.edu/lsumoa)
New Orleans Museum of Art (www.noma.org)
Newcomb Art Gallery (www.newcombartgallery.com)
Ogden Museum of Southern Art (www.ogdenmuseum.org)
Paul and Lulu Hilliard University Art Museum, University of Louisiana at Lafayette (museum.louisiana.edu)
R.W. Norton Art Gallery (www.rwnaf.org)

MISSISSIPPI
Lauren Rogers Museum of Art (www.lrma.org)
Mississippi Museum of Art (www.msmuseumart.org)
Walter Anderson Museum of Art (www.walterandersonmuseum.org)

NORTH CAROLINA
Ackland Art Museum (www.ackland.org)
Artspace (www.artspacenc.org)
Asheville Art Museum (www.ashevilleart.org)
Cameron Art Museum (www.cameronartmuseum.com)
Fayetteville Museum of Art (www.fayettevillemuseumart.org)
Green Hill Center for North Carolina Art (www.greenhillcenter.org)
Greenville Museum of Art (www.gmoa.org)
Guilford College Art Gallery (www.guilford.edu/artgallery)
Hickory Museum of Art (www.hickorymuseumofart.org)
Mint Museum of Art (www.mintmuseum.org)
NCCU Art Museum (web.nccu.edu/artmuseum)
Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University (www.nasher.duke.edu)
North Carolina Museum of Art (ncartmuseum.org)
Old Salem Museums & Gardens (www.mesda.org)
Reynolda House Museum of American Art (www.reynoldahouse.org)
Van Every/Smith Galleries (http://www2.davidson.edu/academics/acad_depts/art/galleries/galleries.html)
Weatherspoon Art Museum (weatherspoon.uncg.edu)

SOUTH CAROLINA
Aiken Center for the Arts (www.aikencenterforthearts.org/)
Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery (www.bjumg.org)
Columbia Museum of Art (www.columbiamuseum.org)
Franklin G. Burroughs-Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum
(myrtlebeachartmuseum.org)
Gibbes Museum of Art (www.gibbesmuseum.org)
Greenville County Museum of Art (www.greenvillemuseum.org)
Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art at the College of Charleston (www.cofc.edu/halseygallery)
The Johnson Collection (http://www.thejohnsoncollection.org/)
Lee Gallery, Clemson University (www.clemson.edu/caah/leegallery/)
McKissick Museum, University of South Carolina (www.cas.sc.edu/mcks/)
South Carolina State Museum (www.museum.state.sc.us)
Spartanburg Art Museum (www.spartanburgartmuseum.org)

TENNESSEE
Art Museum of the University of Memphis (www.amum.org)
Dixon Gallery and Gardens (www.dixon.org)
Fisk University Galleries (www.fisk.edu/gallery/)
Frank H. McClung Museum, University of Tennessee (mcclungmuseum.utk.edu)
Frist Center for the Visual Arts (www.fristcenter.org)
Hunter Museum of American Art (www.huntermuseum.org)
Knoxville Museum of Art (www.knoxart.org)
Memphis Brooks Museum of Art (www.brooksmuseum.org)
Parthenon (www.parthenon.org)
Tennessee State Museum (www.tnmuseum.org)
Vanderbilt University Fine Arts Gallery (www.vanderbilt.edu/gallery)

VIRGINIA
Anderson Gallery, School of the Arts, Virginia Commonwealth University (www.vcu.edu/artweb/gallery/)
Art Museum of Western Virginia (www.artmuseumroanoke.org)
Chrysler Museum of Art (www.chrysler.org)
Contemporary Art Center of Virginia (www.cacv.org)
Gari Melchers Home and Studio (www.garimelchers.org)
Hampton University Museum (www.hamptonu.edu/museum/)
Longwood Center for the Visual Arts (www.longwood.edu/lcva)
Maier Museum of Art (maiermuseum.randolphcollege.edu)
Muscarelle Museum of Art (www.wm.edu/muscarelle)
University of Richmond Museums (museums.richmond.edu)
University of Virginia Art Museum (www.virginia.edu/artmuseum)
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (www.vmfa.museum)

Other Museums
Virtual Library Museums Pages (http://icom.museum/vlmp/)
Metropolitan Museum of Art (www.metmuseum.org)
Museum of Modern Art (www.moma.org)
The Getty (www.getty.edu)
Smithsonian Institution (www.si.edu)

Local Libraries
Augusta State University Library Catalog (http://gil.aug.edu)
East Central Georgia Regional Library (Augusta Public Library) (www.ecgrl.org)— Choose PINES Catalog
University of South Carolina Library Catalog (http://libcat.csd.sc.edu)

Other Libraries
GALILEO: Georgia's Virtual Library (www.galileo.usg.edu)
University of Georgia Library Catalog (https://gil.uga.edu/)
Library of Congress (www.loc.gov)
Library of Congress Online Catalog (http://catalog.loc.gov)
Smithsonian Institution Libraries (http://www.sil.si.edu/)
Smithsonian Institution Library Catalogs including the Art Inventories (www.siris.si.edu)
Archives of American Art (http://artarchives.si.edu)
New York Public Library (www.nypl.org)
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (www.nypl.org/research/sc/sc.html)
Amistad Research Center, Tulane University (www.amistadresearchcenter.org)
Metropolitan Museum of Art Library (libmma.org/portal/)
Moorland-Spingarn Research Center, Howard University (www.founders.howard.edu/moorland-spingarn/)
Center for the Study of Southern Culture, University of Mississippi (www.olemiss.edu/depts/south/)
Getty Research Library (www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/library/index.html)
Museum of Modern Art Library Catalog (DADABASE) (http://library.moma.org)
Gateway to Library Catalogs (www.loc.gov/z3950)

Art History, Art Reference
Resource Guide to Art History (fyifly.com/resource-guide-to-art-history/)
Art Databases and Reference, Boston College (www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/fnart/Artweb_frames.html)
Art History Network (www.arthistory.net)
ArtCyclopedia (www.artcyclopedia.com)
AskArt (www.askart.com)
Artnet (www.artnet.com)
Art History Resources on the Web, Sweet Briar College (http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html)
The Mother of All Art History Links (www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/)
World Wide Arts Resources (www.wwar.com)
Art History Research Centre (www.harmsen.net/ahrc/)
Timelines of Art History (www.arlisna.org/resources/onlinepubs/timelines.html)
ArtLex Art Dictionary (www.artlex.com)

Georgia Information Resources
The New Georgia Encyclopedia (www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/)
Georgia Archives (www.sos.georgia.gov/ARCHIVES/)
Georgia Historical Society (www.georgiahistory.com)

Images
Image Libraries (www.dropbears.com/l/links/images.htm)
National Gallery of Art: Image Collections
(www.nga.gov/resources/dlidesc.shtml)
The ImageBase: Fine Arts Museum of San Francisco (www.famsf.org/fam/about/imagebase/)
Finding Images on the Web: Boston University Libraries (www.bu.edu/library/instruction/findimages/index.html)
Visual Resources Online (www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues2008/may08/
visualresources.cfm
)

Art Appraisal
Online Resources for Collectors, Life Long Learners, Students and Teachers of Art History (www.tfaoi.com/aa/4aa/4aa215h.htm)
Artprice.com (www.artprice.com)
Icollector.com (www.icollector.com)
AskArt (www.askart.com)
Art Dealers Association of American (www.artdealers.org)
American Society of Appraisers (www.appraisers.org)
Appraisers Association of America (www.appraisersassoc.org)
International Society of Appraisers (www.isa-appraisers.org

> BACK TO TOP

 

library
The Center for the Study of Southern Art


Museum Hours: Tuesday–Saturday: 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m. • Sunday: Noon–5:00 p.m. • Closed Mondays and major holidays
Visit the Morris at 1 Tenth Street • Augusta, Georgia 30901 • p. 706-724-7501 • f. 706-724-7612

SITE MAP I
VISIT I JOIN I SHOP I DONATE I EXHIBITIONS I LIBRARY I EDUCATION I SUPPORT I CONTACT US
augusta smithsonian gca